Harwood 100 Open Wall Banner

Harwood 100 Open Wall

June 1 • August 3 • November 2, 1pm-5pm


All local artists are invited to exhibit their work in this self–curated exhibition series that honors Harwood’s democratic origins.

Harkening back to Harwood’s 1940s history when anyone from Taos County could hang a work of art in the galleries as part of a $5.00 annual membership, we invite our community to three opportunities to participate in an open hanging of their own artworks in the Joyce and Sherman Scott Gallery.

Hanging is first-come, first serve––lining up early is encouraged. Artists install their work beginning at 1pm and ending at 5pm. Enjoy music, light hors d’oeuvres, and beverages while you share your work with fellow participating artists. Harwood Museum of Art provides wall space, pedestals, hammers, and nails. All artistic media are welcome that can be installed within a 20-minute time limit. Each artist is limited to one work of art. Art from artists that are not present will not be allowed.

$5 donation encouraged. All proceeds go to entertainment and refreshments for Open Wall program.

Terms & Conditions

The Harwood Museum of Art is not responsible for any damage or theft of art during Open Wall. Artwork is exhibited at the artist’s own risk.

June 1 participating artists are responsible for removing all artwork from the Harwood Museum of Art on Wednesday, August 2 before 5pm. Any artwork unclaimed by Wednesday, August 2 at 5pm will be donated to the charity of Harwood Museum of Art’s choice.

Participating artists agree to exhibit artwork from Thursday, June 1 to Tuesday, August 1, 2023. Artwork is not available for deinstallation under any circumstance before Wednesday, August 2.

With participation, Harwood Museum of Art is given the right to use artist and artwork images for educational programs or public relations purposes.

**to be filled out on day of event.

image link to Centennial Exhibition page
image link to Centennial Book page

Harwood Centennial Sponsors


The Henry Luce Foundation

Betty Thom Foster Special Exhibitions Endowment


Beatrice Mandelman and Louis Ribak Legacy Endowment

Joyce and Sherman Scott

Maryann Evans


The University of New Mexico Office of Academic Affairs


JLH Media

Invisible City Designs