## GOVERNING BOARD OF THE HARWOOD FOUNDATION OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NEW MEXICO

## Meeting Minutes Friday, June 21, 2024 Arthur Bell Auditorium Hybrid Meeting 3PM

**Governing Board Members Present**: Scott McAdams, Shawn Berman, Dora Dillistone, Sheree Livney, Lucile Grieder, Laurie Medley (V), Liz Neely, Janet Mockovciak, Vernon Lujan, Nicole Dopson, Mary Guitierrez (V), Romy Colonius (V)

**Staff Members Present**: Juniper Leherissey, Valerie Overlan, Sylvia Tawse, Sonya Davis, Nicole Dial-Kay, Kate Miller, Molly Casey

Others Present: Tim Castillo, Board Member Nominee

Absent: Harris Smith, Teresa Constantinidis

Handouts: Agenda, Commitment to Serve, Conflict of Interest/Confidentiality Statement

Call to order Confirmation of Quorum: Confirmed. Meeting called to order 3:12 PM

- **1. Adoption of Agenda**: Liz moved to approve the agenda, Janet seconded, all approved.
- **2. Approval of Consent Agenda**: Minutes of 4/19/2024. Janet moved to approve the Consent Agenda, Shawn seconded, all approved.
- 3. Board Chair Update: Scott McAdams
  - a. Scott introduced Tim Castillo as nominee for the open UNM seat
  - **b**. This is the last meeting of the fiscal year; following the meeting will be a farewell to Nicole Dopson, who completes her second term and six years of service on the Harwood Board
  - c. Appreciated all the board members who met for coffee/lunch with Scott & Juniper
  - d. All board members, please sign the annual documents and return to Valerie
- <u>4.</u> **Director's Report-** Juniper shared recent highlights, first of which was that the FBI office of Art Crimes in Dallas called and appears they may have a lead on the Joseph Henry Sharp painting. Juniper reminded everyone to complete their DEIA survey.
- 5. Staff Spotlights- Molly Casey, Education Coordinator and Kate Miller, Curatorial Assistant
- 6. Curatorial Exhibition Update 2024-2025- Nicole Dial-Kay
- 7. Election of Officers:
  - a. New Board Members- Tim Castillo and Santiago Vaca were introduced and voted on. Liz made a motion to approve, Janet seconded and all approved
  - b. New Officers- the new slate of officers includes: Scott McAdams (Chair), Shawn Berman (Vice Chair), Teresa Constantinidis (Treasurer), and Laurie Medley (Secretary). Janet made a motion to approve, Liz seconded and all approved
  - c. Committee Chairs- the slate of Committee Chairs includes: Shawn Berman (Board Governance), Teresa Constantinidis (Finance), Dora Dillistone (Collections), Janet Mockovciak (Education), Lucile Grieder and Shawn Berman (Development). Sheree moved to approve, Lucile seconded and all approved.
- **8. Alliance Report** Sheree shared that at the August meeting, the Governing Board will approve the Alliance budget; the Alliance Financial reports are in the shared Board folder.
- 9. Executive Session- Janet moved to adjourn, Sheree seconded and all approved. Adjourned at 4:58PM
- 10. Adjourn Meeting: Dora adjourned, Shawn seconded and all approved. Adjourned at 5:20PM.